Classroom Driver Education
Are you ready to earn your driver's permit and learn to drive? Start by completing the 30 hours of classroom instruction required by the State of Minnesota. The first phase of driver education, 30 hours of in-class instruction, prepares students for the knowledge (instruction permit) test. Students increase their understanding of basic skills, principles, and processes of responsible driving. Areas of concentration include driver's rights and responsibilities, alcohol and other drugs, signs-signals-road markings, rules of the road, safe driving tips, Minnesota traffic laws, and limitations for teen drivers. Students may enroll at 14 years of age, but they must be age 15 to take the permit test. We encourage students to register for the Classroom Driver Education class that is closest to their 15th birthday. Classroom Driver Ed. class will be offered again in the summer of 2021. Students perform the best on the permit test if the information is fresh in their mind. This course consists of the state-required 30 hours of classroom instruction, along with six hours of Behind-the-Wheel instruction. The classroom prepares students for the written permit test. Upon completion of the classroom instruction, and obtaining a driver’s permit, the Driver Education Coordinator schedules Behind-the-Wheel instruction. The Behind-the-Wheel component prepares students for the road test.
Here are some links to help you with your driving journey:
- Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services
- Department of Motor Vehicle Organization
- National Highway of Traffic Safety Association
- Insurance Institute For Highway Safety
- Minnesota Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association
- Governors Highway Safety Association
- Towards Zero Deaths Minnesota
- PRACTICE QUIZ
- Permit Practice Test
Behind the Wheel (BTW) Driver Education
During the months of June, July, & August you have the opportunity to take Behind the Wheel training from Jeff Soma. By law you are required to successfully complete 6 hours of Behind the Wheel with a qualified instructor in order to take Minnesota’s driving road test. Jeff Soma is a qualified instructor. Once you take the 6 hours of Behind the Wheel, you will be one step closer to getting your license.
A student is required to have their permit for six months and be 16 years of age before they are eligible to take the road test for their driver’s license.
Minnesota requires that you must hold a driver’s permit before moving on to a license, regardless of your age; to qualify for a driver’s permit, you’ll need to pass a written knowledge test. Classroom Driver Education participants will receive their Blue Card when they have successfully completed Classroom Driver Education. The Driver's Ed “Blue Card” (certificate of enrollment) shows that you have completed the classroom section and are enrolled in the behind-the-wheel section. A blue card is required to take the permit test. Students must complete 30 hours of classroom instruction ($90.00) and be financially enrolled in behind-the-wheel instruction ($255.00) in order to receive their blue card.
To meet these requirements, we are charging students $100.00 for Classroom Driver Education and $245.00 for Behind the Wheen Driver Education. The extra $10.00 paid at the time of registration for Classroom Driver Ed. will be applied to the student's Behind the Wheel fee.
** If you are taking your driver's license test, here are a few things to remember:
Bring: social security card, permit, certificate of completion from parent night, driving log, white card from behind the wheel training, and proof of insurance.
- Stop before the stop sign
- Stay under the posted speed limit
- Scan every intersection by actually turning your head a little each-way - 'cool dude nod'
- When stopped behind a car, stop back far enough that you can see their tires touch the pavement
- OBSERVE, OBSERVE, OBSERVE! Can't say this one enough!
- SMOG! - Signal, Mirror, Over the shoulder look, and Go when pulling out from parking especially.